Loading Events

The DPC Education Center’s Healthcare Consultant, Dr. Scantlebury, is going live on Instagram! Come with your kidney questions and get answers from our expert. We hope you’ll join us!

Follow @patientcitizens on Instagram to be notified at the start of our live sessions!

Wednesday, August 7th @ 12:30pm ET, 11:30am CT, 10:30am MT, 9:30am PT

RSVP for a reminder the day of the event: https://www.dpcedcenter.org/news-events/events/signup/

Velma Scantlebury, MD, served as a kidney surgeon for over 30 years, dedicating her life’s work to educating and raising awareness for the health disparities people in the Black community face from kidney disease. Born in Barbados, Dr. Scantlebury’s family moved to New York City when she was 15. She attended Long Island University on a full academic scholarship, obtaining a biology degree with a pre-med focus. Dr. Scantlebury then earned her medical degree from Columbia University, completed her residency in general surgery at Harlem Hospital, and finished her clinical fellowship at the University of Pittsburgh’s Transplantation Institute.

Today, Dr. Scantlebury is an esteemed lecturer and humanitarian, still working to eliminate health disparities and building the next generation of workforce professionals at the Delaware Health Equity Coalition in Wilmington, DE.

Share Your New Knowledge!